View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Loshka Basic Member
Joined: 08 Dec 2003
|
100. Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 11:54 pm Post subject: way around fid error in dancing monkeys |
|
|
This is a message to those of you who tried using DancingMonkeys1.01, implemented all of the suggestions in this thread and still getting fid error.
I went through the matlab code. Even though the matlab code version does not match the latest executable version, two things are clear:
1) fid this is a variable that Karl builds up in his program into a directory path. If somehow this variable is not build up correctly, when the program tries to write to this file, you will get fid error.
2) More importantly, if you do NOT enter the name of the output directory, Karl assigns a default in his program. I used this feature, to get around fid error.
This is what worked for me:
Download the latest version of the Dancing Monkeys (1.01). Uzip the file. Inside Dancing Monkeys folder you will see 5 other folders:
Bin, Lame, Output, Temp Music, toolbox
Open a command prompt window and cd into the directory where the executable is on your computer. (for example: c:\Dancing Monkeys\bin\win32)
Now type dancingmonkeys.exe c:\mysongs\cutesong.mp3 3 5 8
Note that I did not enter the name of the directory where I want the results to go to.
The program will crunch through your music file and will put the results into the Output directory inside the Dancing Monkeys folder.
You will not get the fid error and you will not get Unable to output the truncated
..... error.
Message to Karl:
Please post on your website matlab code that matches the latest version of the executable.
Please add the necessary lines to the code that display the directory path to which you are trying to write prior to making any writes to the file. . This way the problems with the directory path and the filenames will become obvious.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
flip314 Trick Member
Joined: 04 Nov 2002
|
101. Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 10:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
man, how much memory does this need? It allocated about 500 megs, then crashed because it couldn't get more. I'm not going to change my virtual memory settings just to run one program. besides, there's no way it should need that much memory. 2.5MB mp3 = 25 megs wave data. so it's keeping ~20 copies in memory? It shouldn't need anywhere near that many. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Isaacsfa Basic Member
Joined: 08 Dec 2003 Location: Medford, Oregon |
102. Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 1:16 am Post subject: Yokudekimashita! |
|
|
Good work Karl! This program ran perfectly for me first time through (WinXP Pro, NTFS partition, 2ghz, 512ddr). Only problem I'm finding so far is getting a music file that has a consistant BPM, lol...So far I've gotten 'We are all made of Stars' to work, which was pretty boring due to the 112 bpm, but the steps would be fun for someone who was playing on standard or so. By the way, I'm not sure if this has been mentioned in the 6 pages of posts for this, but why did it generate an 8 foot song when I specified 9? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cyan Garamonde (Nosaj) Trick Member
Joined: 08 Apr 2002 Location: Crouching before a river of poison, staring at the blood on my hands, vowing to have revenge... |
103. Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 8:58 am Post subject: Re: Yokudekimashita! |
|
|
Isaacsfa wrote: | By the way, I'm not sure if this has been mentioned in the 6 pages of posts for this, but why did it generate an 8 foot song when I specified 9? |
I think Karl mentioned that the program would do that; i.e., you specified 9, but it could only crank out steps hard enough to be an 8. _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DJ Tau Trick Member
Joined: 03 Sep 2003
|
104. Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2003 4:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hm... a very interesting project there Could you also post the C source? I'd like to get a Linux port working... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DwP.nemesis Trick Member
Joined: 18 Dec 2003 Location: i dun like this game aneymoerz |
105. Posted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 4:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ERROR: Unable to find LAME mp3 decoder.
EXITING
argh, whens this program actually gonna work? _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Slowpoke Trick Member
Joined: 28 Oct 2003
|
106. Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 7:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
This program performs quite amazingly, given what it's trying to do. My only problem with it is that the difficulty of the steps are about 2 feet easier than what they're supposed to be (eg, ask for a 7, and you get the equivalent of a 5 foot song). Also, the radars seem to always look pretty similar. It'd be great if, instead of specifying the difficulty level, you could instead input the radar coefficients you'd like the steps to conform to. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ichiro Basic Member
Joined: 28 Dec 2003
|
107. Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Will it compile under Linux? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sky5489 Basic Member
Joined: 07 Jan 2004 Location: Frisco, CA |
108. Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 5:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
C:\My Documents\Dancing Monkeys\bin\win32>DancingMonkeys.exe "C:\WINDOWS\Desktop
\TUPAC - Thugz Mansion.mp3\" 3 5 8 "C:\Program Files\StepMania\Songs\Dancing Mon
keys new\
ans =
Reference to unknown function or variable 'Files' while evaluating expression.
ans =
Reference to unknown function or variable 'Monkeys' while evaluating expression.
ans =
Error: Expected a variable, function, or constant, found "]".
ERROR: Unable to find music file.
EXITING
C:\My Documents\Dancing Monkeys\bin\win32>
i need help!!!!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
spoonsman Trick Member
Joined: 01 Dec 2002
|
109. Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 5:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Try taking the trailing slash off of your mp3 file and also getting rid of the destination directory, just let it output into the default directory. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Slowpoke Trick Member
Joined: 28 Oct 2003
|
110. Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 12:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's DOS based so you can't use directories or filenames with spaces in them. Your directory "Program Files" is what's generating the error, no doubt. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
spoonsman Trick Member
Joined: 01 Dec 2002
|
111. Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 1:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
DOS supports spaces in folder and file names if you put quotation marks around them so it recognizes it as only only parameter instead of two or more paramerters. He put quotation marks around the directory, no doubt that is not the problem.
I just tested this in WinXP's command line and at a DOS prompt in Win98. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Slowpoke Trick Member
Joined: 28 Oct 2003
|
112. Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 6:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
... except that according to what he typed, he didn't close the 2nd set of quotes, and the two error messages he got were pointing to the word that came after the space. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sky5489 Basic Member
Joined: 07 Jan 2004 Location: Frisco, CA |
113. Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 12:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
this is a nice program(once u get to learn how to use it), but the only thing that is bad for me is that the songs take like an hour and half to do one song |
|
Back to top |
|
|
spoonsman Trick Member
Joined: 01 Dec 2002
|
114. Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 4:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Slowpoke wrote: | ... except that according to what he typed, he didn't close the 2nd set of quotes, and the two error messages he got were pointing to the word that came after the space. |
Good point, next time I should probably read the error message a little more closely. Still, if you use the correct quotations spaces shouldn't be a problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Amything Basic Member
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
|
115. Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 9:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Good job on this program!
This is my first post and I'm a total newbie to DDR (got it for christmas). But I tried 3 times to make a DWI without success until I found your program. Finding the BPM and gap was easy for me, but in the end it always started to drift out untill I gave up on it. I'm a former sound engineer and using Sound Forge, Acid and other programs, calculating the BPM to a .001 accuracy it still drifted. I think there are so many factors that come into this that makes it a very difficult and frustrating job.
Dancing monkey however gave me good results for the 2 songs I tested. I still don't think it's 100% but it gives you some kind of magical avarage that works throughout.
The steps where good considdering but I still ripped them out to make my own I'm a happy camper! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Shadow_65 Trick Member
Joined: 04 Jan 2004 Location: Saturn |
116. Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 5:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Great program i lovew it but errrr....
is there any way for you to speed upthe proscess???
thx a million |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NAOKi SYNDROME Trick Member
Joined: 05 Jun 2002 Location: Fixing my broken pad... *Sob* |
117. Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 11:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
For LAME encoder issues, read what Loshka says... _________________
Naoki doll, comes in a billion different costumes like ZZ, kTz, NM, UZI-Lay, N & S, Naoki Undergound, RevenG and much, MUCH more!
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ZOOT Roxor Staff
Joined: 06 Mar 2003
|
118. Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Interesting paper.
Quote: | With 30 out of the 32 (93.8%) of the gap values computed correctly, the algorithm has proved to be very strong. |
They're mostly off by around 20ms. It's coming close--it's good hinting, but it does need hand-tuning. 0.045 error on the BPM in the previous section (which said "of a second"; typo?) is dismissed as acceptable, but that comes out to about 21ms cumulative error after a minute. For comparison, StepMania's default Marvelous window is 22.5ms.
This is expected, of course--figuring out the BPM and offset values closely enough to stay within a few ms after a minute of audio is extremely difficult. Coming within .045 BPM is, indeed, very strong--but "small enough difference to be unnoticeable" is a stretch. :)
Nosaj wrote: | I wouldn't even bother with the .wav file DM creates; just use the original mp3 that you had. |
Here's one thing to beware of: different decoders handle some MP3s differently. In particular, files with various headers, and files that have been "cut" post-encoding often are decoded with one or more frames of silence at the beginning, depending on the decoder. This is at least one reason SM and DWI often appear to have different timing for the same song. (This should be mostly fixed in alpha 13, once it's released ...)
So, if you're testing sync with this, you might be better off trying it with WAVs first, or you might end up with 26 or 52ms extra error. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
The_Pwnager Trick Member
Joined: 31 Dec 2003
|
119. Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 9:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Edit: ehe, nevermind, erasing that before anyone sees wut a noobie i am |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|